Roadrunners

Today there were two roadrunners in the yard.  I had a chance to get several shots.  Here it’s looking for a snack.
roadrunner 3And here’s the basic ear-scratch.  You can see its toes here – two facing forward and two facing back – makes a distinctive X shaped track.
roadrunner scratchingThe second roadrunner showed up on the gate, holding still for a few seconds.
roadrunner 2Then my dog raced past to save me from these creatures – startled the birds and me.
roadrunner startledEnd of session.  Reminder:  close the door securely next time.

This entry was posted in Photography and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Roadrunners

  1. karenrsanderson says:

    I lived in Albuquerque for about ten years and saw loads of roadrunners. And they really are fast, beep beep!

  2. Ah…another glimpse of T or C. I’m so glad I got to visit. I can picture exactly where these pictures came from.

  3. We have roadrunners, too, and I can never get my camera fast enough!

  4. Yvonne says:

    They’re nice looking birds!

  5. Kathy Claycomb says:

    That second one looks like he’s break dancing! And I didn’t know they had blue crests! Nice photos!

  6. Aspen says:

    Great shots, Donna ! And the blur at the end… perfect !!

  7. locksands says:

    Lovely photos. We don’t have roadrunners in the UK

  8. Crooked Tracks says:

    I have never seen road runners so I enjoyed your photos!

  9. dorannrule says:

    Great catches! An awkward looking bird but beautiful in its own way.

  10. Lorraine says:

    You are a wonderful photographer! Keep up the good work!

Leave a Reply

