Signs of Deer

The dog and I had a nice treat last night – deer visiting the yard.  Sola started by barking, but soon obeyed to watch silently.  It was too dark for photos – I really saw only silhouettes.  Five does, not all that big.

This morning I can see they mostly munched on cactus.  They really mow down the cactus with the fewest spines.  A better armed cactus next to their feeding spot was not touched.

Untouched!

.

.

.

.

They came within about 30 feet of the house and nibbled on the juniper.  Spiny cactus and juniper – not a tasty meal in my opinion, but high in fiber.

We watched for almost half an hour.  And today I’ll water the cactus to help it recover.

Nibbled Juniper

This entry was posted in Photography and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.