Trail Camera

I live near the edge of our small town.  There’s a little open land around me, but also houses, a school, and a hospital.  In my yard I’ve seen foxes, deer, cottontails, and signs of coyotes.  I decided to buy a trail camera to see who came by at night.

I bought mine here (I am not paid for the endorsements, but I like the company and the camera).  I set it up only at night and near a water dish.  If I ran it in the daytime, I would get hundreds of photos of doves.

Here are some of my captures:

Foxes – always one of my favorites.

Sometimes two foxes.
And then there are always too many skunks, even if it’s just one.  They do like the fallen apricots.
And sometimes there are confrontations.  Skunk and cat.
And then there are the raccoons.  I’m not surprised that they are here, but I have never seen one.  Evidence tells me they are in my yard two or three nights a week.
The coyotes that leave ‘calling cards’ in the yard have not been caught on camera.  The most frequent animal is the feral cat.  I’ll put them in the next post.

 

This entry was posted in Photography and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Trail Camera

  1. 1nmbirder says:

    This is awesome!!! Love the cat/skunk pic….priceless!

  2. Kathryn Claycomb says:

    My coworker got a bear looking right into the trail cam! My neighbor got a cougar strolling between his property and ours a couple years ago.

  3. Hm…once I get settled out here in the country, I’ll have to get one. I’m a lot farther out than you are so I’m guessing I should have quite a collection of critters.

  4. ambfoxx says:

    Quite the party going on at your water dish. I like the image of skunks nibbling on apricots, even if you are not so fond of the skunks. I am now right in the middle of town where no doubt a little wildlife still comes in for a stroll.

  5. Luanne @ TFK says:

    LOVE THIS! I want one! And the skunk is gorgeous, no matter what you say.

  6. dorannrule says:

    Wow! What fun to have a critter cam to detect all the secret visitors.

  7. seabluelee says:

    Wow, that’s a lot of wildlife! I’m surprised you haven’t seen coyotes. When I lived with my sister in California, they were bold as brass. I photographed them in broad daylight as they strolled across my patio!

  8. Good Luck Duck says:

    How fun! I might not want to know what would come to dine at the cabin.

Leave a Reply

