Fort Union

With four seasons:  snow, wind, heat, and beautiful.  I was lucky enough to see beautiful. Might have been a tough posting in other seasons.
ft unionFort Union, Watrous, New Mexico, USA.

This entry was posted in Photography and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Fort Union

  1. 1nmbirder says:

    That is beautiful. I’ve never been there but I’ve wanted to go for some time. Is it worth it?

    • It’s interesting. I’m not totally interested in forts, but I like the starkness of the area. And the land closer to Watrous should be great for birding. I stayed at the Plaza in Las Vegas and made a couple of day trips – one to Watrous and one to Mora and one east. Fun.

      • 1nmbirder says:

        I will have to check it out next time I’m in the area. I have a job site in just outside of Las Vegas. And yes, it’s a great birding area. I’ve gone to the refuges north of there. Maybe next time I will try the fort. And you’re right about the weather!!

  2. I think this is one of New Mexico’s special places. You’ve captured the starkness, the isolation of it well.

  3. I love the “messy skies” of the southwest. This one is perfect.

Leave a Reply

