Rattler

My dog was very curious about this creature.  The snake was not so thrilled with the dog.   Luckily, no one was harmed.
rattlesnakeNear Truth or Consequences, New Mexico, USA.

This entry was posted in Photography and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Rattler

  1. 1nmbirder says:

    Thankfully all is well!! Every time I hear that rattle my heart leaps into my throat! Now that Scarlett has been rattlesnake proofed, I think the same thing happens to her!
    Hopefully you shot this great picture from a good distance!

    • I put Cassie through one rattlesnake proofing, but it didn’t work for her. She’s still curious. How did they teach Scarlett? I have a good telephoto lens!

      • 1nmbirder says:

        They used western diamondback snakes that had been defanged. They they put a shock collar on the dog set at max voltage. They take you out in the natural desert setting. Have you walk your dog toward the snake acting like nothing is up. Then when the dog notices the snake, you let them zero in on it. When they get within a foot or so of the snake, the shock collar is activated simulating a snake bite. The dog will forever associate that sound and smell with pain and avoid rattlesnakes. They tried this training with nonvenemous snakes, but then the dogs only avoided those snakes. So obviously each specie of snake smells different. When Scarlett heard that rattlesnake about a month after training, she immediately ran the other way! It worked perfectly!

      • Cassie’s was similar, but not in a natural setting (parking lot). And I think she associates the pain more with the collar than with the snake. Your training sounds much better. I really don’t like shock collars at all, but this seemed reasonable – IF it worked.

      • 1nmbirder says:

        I agree…the setting was key. And I too don’t care for shock collars but in this instance it was the perfect use. Very effective for Scarlett. Also, they had two different snakes in two locations to reinforce the training. She didn’t even need shocking with the 2nd snake.

  2. I don’t think I would have had the calm to take a picture of the snake before I killed it, maybe after. Did you get any pictures of the quiet birds?

  3. Timothy Price says:

    Beautiful snake! Great photo! You can get a shot snake shot for the dog that will help if it does get bitten.

    • She does get the snake shot. I’m trying everything I can because we hike in open desert and she roams pretty far. I’m a bit paranoid about snakes – compensating for the dog!

      • Timothy Price says:

        That’s good. She might get a little more protection from a bite. I really like rattlesnakes, but I don’t mess with them unless I need to remove one from a house or property. A snakebite can be a very costly mishap. BTW Western Diamondbacks don’t have particularly potent venom, but they can deliver a lot of venom in a single bite. On the other hand, Prairie Rattlesnake have much more potent venom, making their bites potentially much more dangerous.

      • I like them too. I did have to kill one that was too close to the house. I hate that. One of our animal control officers will relocate them, but it was her day off.

  4. kocart says:

    I wish you could see a picture we took of a rattler crossing the road in Wyoming. We stopped for a photo and it reared up and gave us a perfect shot. If it got any angrier it might have taken a bite out of our truck tire–we were glad to be in the truck! No telling what our dogs would have done–we don’t have these snakes in northern Illinois, so we’ve never heard of snake-proofing. I don’t think an encounter would end well. Great shot of an amazing creature.

    • Some can be quite aggressive – especially if they think you have come too close! I’ve heard good things about snake-proofing, but it just wasn’t the right trainers for Cassie. It might be like dogs with skunks – some learn the first time and some never learn! Cassie was quite intrigued by this one’s posturing.

      • Mary Katherine says:

        I thought I remembered Cassie has been through rattlesnake aversion training. I’m super glad it all came out all right! Even though dogs when bitten usually come out all right anyway- but it is much preferred to avoid the worry and expense!

      • kocart says:

        Wow–close call. Thank goodness you still have your dog.

  5. Not like. Snakes are bad. Living in AZ we have rattlers and in my book the only good snake is a dead snake or at least one that stays far far away.

Leave a Reply

