Woodpecker Nest

I was recently told about a Ladder-backed Woodpecker nest in my neighbor’s tree.  I am infatuated.  These are my first shots – the female bringing food to the young.  I’m sure there will be more photos.
wp bugThis is why I cannot see the babies.
wp by nestBut I can hear them.

This entry was posted in Photography and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Woodpecker Nest

  1. conspicari says:

    Great images, I have a pair of Green Woodpeckers visiting my garden here in the UK. :>)

  2. Yvonne says:

    What a lovely bird! And, you must be pleased as punch to get such good photos.

  3. 1nmbirder says:

    How exciting!! Soon they will poke their heads out 🙂

  4. Mary Katherine says:

    I HOPE there will be more photos!

  5. seabluelee says:

    Four years ago, I moved to Acton, California, where I stayed for about a year and a half. I saw and photographed many of the same birds as you do, so the climate must be similar to your area. I’m really enjoying seeing them again through your eyes and camera. It brings back lovely memories. I never saw the Ladderbacks’ nest, but they often visited one of my birdbaths for water.

Leave a Reply

