Hawk v. Dove

The end of the story is what I expected – the hawk kills the dove and gets its meal.  What I hadn’t thought about was that the dove might fight back valiantly and might be alive way too long into the process.  I understand that predators and prey are natural elements, but I could not watch while the dove lived so long.
hawk dove 1hawk dove 2And the aftermath:
hawk dove feathers

 

This entry was posted in Photography and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Hawk v. Dove

  1. zdunno03 says:

    I think most of us would sympathize with the dove and the will to live.

  2. vera ersilia says:

    Yes that is hard to see. I cannot put ‘like’ to it..

  3. kathy claycomb says:

    That hawk looks like either an immature sharp-shinned hawk or an immature Cooper’s hawk. I would bet on sharp-shinned with the white steak above its eye. Both Cooper’s and sharpies hunt from a perch, but the sharpie also courses. A sharpie could have taken the dove as it flew, or as it fed on the ground; a Cooper’s would most likely have taken it as it flew. Both hang out at bird feeders. The hardest bird death that I saw was an immature Cooper’s die after hitting my parents’ patio door. There was no Nature’s Way in that.

Leave a Reply

