Gypsum Shapes

White Sands dunes are made of gypsum.  Sometimes it hardens a little, and the grains cover and then uncover the more solid shapes.
gypsum shapes 2gypsum shapes 3gypsum shapesWhite Sands National Monument, New Mexico, USA.

This entry was posted in Photography and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Gypsum Shapes

  1. 1nmbirder says:

    Great photos! I especially love the last one. I used to live at White Sands Missile Range. We’d go to the dunes and play quite often. I haven’t been back there as an adult but I’ve thought about it more recently since I’ve gotten into photography. Your photos make me want to go!

  2. Yvonne says:

    Ever changing, it seems. They do look like beautiful sculptures.

  3. karenrsanderson says:

    These are beautiful! I have been to White Sands….walked around for hours. It’s a fabulous landscape, and so different than anything I’ve ever seen.

  4. So beautiful! I’ve never seen white sand dunes.

Leave a Reply

