Black Blasting Powder

We found another deposit of old rusty cans in the desert – 25 pounds and dangerous.  Or they were at one time.  Now they are beautifully rusted.
explosives dump

explosive det

This entry was posted in Photography and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Black Blasting Powder

  1. karenrsanderson says:

    And I see they were DuPont – I used to work for DuPont in Delaware.

  2. When I see a scene like that, I want to know the “rest of the story.” Who used it? When? Why? Etcetera. Those are very interesting images.

  3. klh048 says:

    I’m always surprised at what I find out in the desert in off road places where you would think no one would go.

  4. Your photos always remind me of all the unshot photos I see around me. Unshot because I see this stuff from the car while hubby is driving and he won’t ever stop!!

  5. karenrsanderson says:

    I don’t know how old these containers are, but DuPont started making explosives in Wilmington, DE, in about 1800… see the wiki page here. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/DuPont. However, I don’t know how these got to the SW!

    • About 1914 or so they started building Elephant Butte Dam and lots of roads in the area, but I think these must be more recent. How long can a can last in the desert? The history of DuPont says they produced it until 1945.

Leave a Reply

