Typewriter in Snow

typewriter in snow

Image | This entry was posted in Photography and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Typewriter in Snow

  1. John Coleman says:

    I just love this one, Donna. I purposely used an old typewriter like this to produce second drafts of poems so that I wouldn’t rush them. Peace and thanks, John

  2. Ms D……as often I can’t explain, but your image of a word & idea producing machine, sitting wasting away in the snow so illumunated what happens to me a lot of the times. thanx for the wake up image……en theos…j

  3. kathy claycomb says:

    This image brought some interesting thoughts and feelings for me. As an appreciator (is that a word?) of the history of technology, it just kills me to see something rotting in a field that was once so wonderful and liberating (and possibly restricting, because when you use technology, the limits of the technology necessarily limit you — just as using a pen or a pencil or a typewriter or a keyboard each generates a different experience). It’s a commentary on the blind rush to the next great (and no doubt more expensive) technology and the discarding of the previous technology which was thought perfectly wonderful in its day. Of course I am no different. Yes, one of my New Year’s resolutions is to write some actual pen-on-paper letters to people this year.

    • I agree writing with a pen on paper is an entirely different experience. I think it uses different circuits in the brain. It is hard to see damaged rusty machines, but I also have to say this was my all-time favorite find in the desert! Rust is my favorite color. And this makes wonderful yard art. I can’t destroy a working machine, but I’m happy to rescue the already rusted ones. I’ll be waiting for one of your letters.

  4. vera ersilia says:

    … and little snow elves will come to write the story of the snow queen… what a fabulous image!

  5. Mom says:

    Oh No! Now bring that inside and dry it off thoroughly!!!

  6. One of my gifts to myself this year is to be a nice fountain pen. I had one in college…a hundred years ago…and loved how it felt on good paper (even though I mostly used it for taking notes in class.) I never liked the typewriter, probably because I’m a terrible typist. Give me a delete key and I’m fine. But it’s time, before I forget how entirely, to put pen to paper and regain legible handwriting.

  7. love this, and the NM mountain frosted in snow. NM is so inspiring.

  8. dorannrule says:

    That is a fantastic photograph even though it makes me sad. I learned on a typer like this when it was technologically advanced.

Leave a Reply

