August Break Photo Challenge – Day 1

I’m joining Susannah Conway’s August Break photo challenge.  The only rule is to take a photo every day.  My goal for the month is to make daily still life arrangements – mostly of two kinds: stuff I find in the desert and family heirlooms.  And make backdrops as needed.  I’m taking the challenge because I want to be able to do these set-ups and have never given myself enough time or structure to learn how.  I won’t post every day’s results, just every once in a while.
This was Friday’s first attempt.  Stuff I find in the desert: rock, rust, wood, and bits of critters.
desert stuff 1

Not what I had in mind, but I do like it.  This has no context – no background – it’s floating.  I was picturing a display on a table or something like a museum display.  This is more detached.  Maybe better.  Day one – this is fun and a good start!

 

This entry was posted in Photography and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to August Break Photo Challenge – Day 1

  1. I really like it! The snakeskin makes me laugh, as I think all snake skins will from here on.

  2. populus tremuloides says:

    I like it too!

  3. Eve elting says:

    Love it. A few devils claws might be a nice addition.too..?

  4. kathy claycomb says:

    I really like this. Especially the animal bits! What did you use for the backdrop? Black velvet or something similar? There is absolutely no texture to the background which I find appealing.

    • I used a black photographic drop cloth, but it’s not black enough. Had to remove some of the grayness. I need to get a bigger piece of black velvet than I have now. And I like animal bits, too!

  5. Sherry Galey says:

    Fascinating Donna. I like it too!

  6. dorannrule says:

    I love this! If it’s a first effort, it’s art gallery worthy for sure! It’s beautiful. Really.

Leave a Reply

