Manhole Cover Art

I have just become aware of manhole cover art.  It’s amazing.  I would have expected all covers to be generic.  Seems expensive to have something special designed, but maybe if you are buying hundreds (thousands?), it becomes reasonable.
I saw this one is Albuquerque a couple of months ago.  It was risky taking the photo, but the driver I inconvenienced was quite patient.  Thank you.
manhole albAnd this one from Roswell, New Mexico, with a Zia, yucca, pecan trees (I think), and a lariat in the shape of a flying saucer.
manhole roswellHave you ever noticed manhole cover designs?  I’ll definitely be on the look out for them!

This entry was posted in Photography and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Manhole Cover Art

  1. SherriS. says:

    I’ve never seen manhole art before! Seems a shame that something so intricate isn’t being noticed but driven over:)

  2. kocart says:

    Noticing things is an art of its own. This is a very nice choice of subject–I look forward to more!

  3. I’ve never noticed any like that! Those are awesome. I guess walkers out walking with little traffic going might notice them. 😉

  4. In 2009, I was in Rome with my family and noticed their manhole covers included the acronym: SPQR. While the cover itself was not ornate, I was fascinated to see the letters, which originated during the Roman Empire. SPQR stands for Senatus Populusque Romanus; it dates back to BC era.

    Your photos, btw, are amazing. I’ve lived in NM and recognize some of the landscape and background. You have a talented and keen eye.

  5. kathy claycomb says:

    I have always looked at manhole covers when they appear near my feet (legacy of an engineer for a father…always thinking of what’s behind/under/over something). Most of the ones I’ve seen have said in big letters either East Jordan Iron Works (located in East Jordan, MI; yours says East Jordan Iron Works in little letters) or Neenah Foundry (located in the other state in which I’ve lived most of my life, Wisconsin). I’ve never seen any like the ones you have photographed. I will now be looking for new construction that might have newer manhole covers. They are truly unique! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

