Trinity Site – Keep Out

trinity keep out

This fence keeps visitors at the Trinity Site (where the atom bomb was exploded in 1945 in New Mexico) from wandering out onto White Sands Missile Range.  I like the photo – it’s what I wanted it to be.  I had to wait a few minutes because there was a boy with a geiger counter checking the fence post.  I rarely photograph people so I waited for him to move on.  My friend watching asked if I got a picture of the boy.  THEN it dawned on me that it would have been an interesting shot to have this child checking the radioactivity.  The photography lesson presented:  allow folks into my shots.  This doesn’t come naturally to me, but I hope to learn it.  There was no reason I couldn’t have had this shot both ways.

This one links to Friday Fences.

This entry was posted in Photography and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Trinity Site – Keep Out

  1. Tanya says:

    i really like this shot!

  2. Jackie/Jake says:

    I like this shot without the boy, I don’t like people in my photos either unless they are exotic.

  3. Frank says:

    IMHO, the best photos tell a story. Yours does that. However, without your commentary, I would not have known the significance of the fence. Now, had you included the boy, your story would have been even more compelling. Regardless, nicely done!

    I wish I had a dollar for every time I said to myself, “woulda, coulda, shoulda”.

  4. Janis says:

    Nice shot…but your right..having the boy in the shot would have added to the story behind the fence!

  5. CAROL says:

    I think the FENCE Is the story so I usually don’t let people into the shot either. I think maybe if it’s a special thing then maybe. Yes I agree because the boy WAS checking for radioactivity that would have added to it.. It stands as a stark reminder though that fence.. Neat photo.. I like it!!

  6. betsy says:

    great photo. I wonder if any activity registered.
    betsy

  7. Great shot Donna, nice work.

Leave a Reply

