Amos Claycomb’s December 1902 Diary

My Grandfather kept diaries most of his life.  This is from his 1902 journal when he was 16 and living in Sycamore, Illinois.  I post a month each Monday.

Monday, December 1, 1902
It has been a nice day.
I went to a lecture tonight given by Ernest Thompson Seton which was the best that I have ever heard.

Tuesday, December 2, 1902
It has been cloudy all day and about four o’clock it began to snow very hard and kept it up until about six.

Wednesday, December 3, 1902
It has been cloudy all day and it snowed a little this morning.

Thursday, December 4,1902
It has been cloudy nearly all day and a good deal colder than usual.

Friday, December 5, 1902
It has been cloudy all day.
I went into Chicago this morning with Papa and went down to the fat stock show which are very good.

Saturday, December 6, 1902
It has been cloudy all day and it snowed from about noon until night.
I worked all day getting some old papers of the attic and burning them. [The genealogist in me is very uncomfortable with this – what did he burn?]

Sunday, December 7, 1902
It has been a nice day only pretty cold as it was 10º above this morning.
I walked up town this morning to take the milk to our customer and to get a paper.
I went to Sunday-School at noon.

Monday, December 8, 1902
It has been partly fair and partly cloudy today but was very cold as it was 5º below this morning.
I walked to school and back again.  I began playing basketball tonight but had to quit in the middle of the game because someone jumped on my ankle.

Tuesday, December 9, 1902
It has been cloudy all day today.
I walked home from school tonight.
Uncle Will Tapper came home from Mexico this noon.

Wednesday, December 10, 1902
It has been cloudy all day.
I played basket-ball for a while after school tonight and walked home after that.

Thursday, December 11, 1902
It has been cloudy all day.

Friday, December 12, 1902
It has been cloudy all day.
I went to a dance tonight with Bess Branen and had a very nice time.

Saturday, December 13, 1902
It has been a nice day.
I staid home all the forenoon but this afternoon I went up town and played basket-ball for a while.
The electric cars began carrying passengers for the first time this afternoon giving all who rode a free ride.

Sunday, December 14, 1902
It has been cloudy all day.
I took the customer’s milk up this morning and got a paper walking both ways.  I walked to and from Sunday School.
The electric car has been running all day and has been crowded nearly all the time.

Monday, December 15, 1902
It has been cloudy all day and rained hard for a while and then snowed a little.
Papa went up town on the electric cars after supper tonight.

Tuesday, December 16, 1902
It has been snowing nearly all day.
I walked to school this morning but rode home tonight on the cars.
I played basketball for a little while after school tonight.

Wednesday, December 17, 1902
It has been partly fair and partly cloudy today.
The walks are nearly all covered with ice and it is very hard to walk on them.  This is because it rained last Monday.

Thursday, December 18, 1902
It has been a very nice day today.
I played basketball for a little while after school tonight and then walked home.

Friday, December 19, 1902
It has been raining most of the time today.
Papa drove up town after supper tonight.  Grandma had a pretty bad spell with her heart last night but is better now.

Saturday, December 20, 1902
It has been raining nearly all day.
Louise and Mrs. Hill went into Chicago this morning and came out tonight with Nell who came home for the winter vacation.
I went up town this forenoon and played basketball for a while but staid home this afternoon.  I went up after the gang tonight.

Sunday, December 21, 1902
It has been cloudy all day and raining part of the time.
I walked up town to take the milk and get the paper this morning and then back again.
I went to Sunday School at noon.
Uncle Will came out this afternoon and staid for supper and then he and Papa went up town on the cars.
Ian and Margaret Wild came out on the cars this afternoon and staid for a little while.

Monday, December 22, 1902
It has been cloudy all day.
Eleanor went up to Grandma’s this morning and staid there for dinner.  I walked home after school tonight.

Tuesday, December 23, 1902
It has been cloudy today and a little colder than yesterday.
I walked home after school tonight.
Papa went up to a school board meeting on the cars after supper tonight.

Wednesday, December 24,1902
It has been cloudy nearly all day.
School let out at noon for the winter vacation.
I played basketball this afternoon for a while and then rode on the cars home.
We all took the cars up to the exercises at the church tonight and then we rode home.

Thursday, December 25, 1902
It has been cloudy all day and very cold.
We all went up toGrandma’s for dinner George, Edward and I walking both ways.For present I got three books, a diary, $8, a necktie, a necktie holder, and a whist-broom.

Friday, December 26, 1902
It has been partly cloudy and partly nice today and also pretty cold.
I staid home all the forenoon and read most of the time but this afternoon Papa and I went over to a neighboring farm and brought back a hog which had gotten away from us.
Uncle Fred is sick in bed now and is staying up to Grandma’s with all his family.
Papa went up town after supper tonight.

Saturday, December 27, 1902
It has been a very nice day except that it clouded up towards evening.
I walked up town and back this morning taking the milk with me.
I staid home nearly all the afternoon.
Harry Shelton came here tonight to stay for a short time and Eleanor had Margaret Brown out to stay all night.

Sunday, December 28, 1902
It has been cloudy nearly all day and commenced snowing about dark.
I walked up town and back this morning taking the milk and getting a paper.
At noon I walked to Sunday School and then back again.

Monday, December 29, 1902
It has been partly cloudy and partly nice today and it snowed for a little while tonight.
I walked up town and back this morning and took the milk with me.  I staid in the house nearly all the afternoon and slept a little while.
Harry and Eleanor went up to Margaret Brown’s on the cars after supper and Papa went up town with them.

Tuesday, December 30, 1902
It has been a nice day.
I rode up town with Papa this morning and then walked home.
I walked up town and back again this afternoon.
Tonight I took Bessie Branen to a dance given by the Eastern Star and had a very nice time.

Wednesday, December 31, 1902
It has been a very nice day.
I staid home all day and slept most of the time recuperating from last night’s dance.
Eleanor and Harry Shelton went to a party up town tonight.

This entry was posted in Grandpa's Diaries and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Amos Claycomb’s December 1902 Diary

  1. Aspen says:

    Ahh the holiday party life in rural America. The Electric cars were a hit ! I forwarded the link to my dad who is quite a fan of the PG&E cars in California….

  2. Dave Robison says:

    This is very interesting to see someone else posting their grandfather’s diary! I’ve been waiting for 2013 to arrive because I thought that posting it in its 100th year would be a celebration of sorts of who my grandfather was! I should commend your grandfather for the legible handwriting…. Clem Dickson’s hand leaves much to the imagination!

  3. liliannemilgrom says:

    Hey Donna – Thanks for checking out my blog Art and Beyond. I love the fact that you post from your grandfather’s diary! Really interesting blog and some lovely images.

  4. Your grandfather had perseverance…it took discipline to write as he did everyday! Lots of cloudy days…weather always plays with our minds…What a beautiful tribute to him!

Leave a Reply

