Amos Claycomb’s October 1902 Diary

My Grandfather kept diaries most of his life.  This is from his 1902 journal when he was 16 and living in Sycamore, Illinois.  I post a month each Monday.

Wednesday, October 1, 1902
It cleared up last night and there was quite a heavy frost and it has been a nice day today except that it clouded up a little tonight.

Thursday, October 2, 1902
It has been cloudy all day.
Papa went to Elgin today with Mr. Denman from California who is staying up to Grandma’s.

Friday, October 3, 1902
It has been cloudy and a little cold all day.

Saturday, October 4, 1902
It has been raining all day but the rain has been almost a mist.
I took Papa up town this afternoon and he went to Chicago.
The men worked on the electric road in front of our house all the forenoon and now have the ties and rails laid down to the east end of our yard.

Sunday, October 5, 1902
It rained nearly all the forenoon and was cloudy all the afternoon.
I took the milk up to  the factory this morning.  We did not go to Sunday-School.

Monday, October 6, 1902
It has been a very nice day.
I helped with the washing a little while before going to school this morning.

Tuesday, October 7, 1902
It has been a very nice day.  Papa went up town after supper tonight.  It was foggy for a little while this morning but it soon lifted.

Wednesday, October 8, 1902
It has been a very nice day and the roads are getting a good deal better than they were.
Papa went up town after supper tonight.

Thursday, October 9, 1902
It has been a nice day today.
I whipped carpets for a while after school tonight.

Friday, October 10, 1902
It was foggy and cloudy this morning but cleared up in the middle of the forenoon and has been nice the rest of the time.
I went up to Grandma’s to get a fountain pen which I sent for in Chicago by her today.  It cost. $2.50.

Saturday, October 11, 1902
It has been a nice day and a good […] warmer than usual.
Papa had the best room fixed over today by having a hard wood floor put in.
I cleaned off a buggy this afternoon and then as some boys came out we played ball and horseshoes.
This is my new fountain pen.

Sunday, October 12, 1902
It rained until about ten o’clock this morning and then quit but began again about four and from 6 o’clock till now at 8 it has simply been pouring.
I went [sic] the milk up to the factory this morning but we did not go to Sunday School because it was so rainy.  Papa has just gone up town in the rain after our hired girl who went up town this afternoon.

Monday, October 13, 1902
It has been cloudy and cold all day with a strong north-west wind but it cleared up after dark and the moon is shinning [sic] now at half-past eight.  The rain last night made the roads very muddy again.
Papa and the hired man today built a fence from the road back to the north fence on the west side of the yard.

Tuesday, October 14, 1902
There was a heavy frost last night but it has been nice today only colder than usual.
Papa began to prep field corn today.

Wednesday, October 15, 1902
It has been a very nice day.
I walked up to Grandma’s after school and then walked home tonight.  Uncle Will gave me some good neck-ties today.

Thursday, October 16, 1902
It has been a very nice day.
I got a haircut after school tonight and then walked home.
There is a total esclipse [sic] of the moon tonight which is going on now at about twenty minutes of eleven.  It is a full moon but it is not quite darkened yet.

Friday, October 17, 1902
It was nice this morning but clouded up this afternoon and commenced to rain about half past seven.
I went to a dance tonight and had a very nice time.

Saturday, October 18, 1902
It has been partly fair and partly cloudy today.
George and I scraped off some of the paper of the best room this forenoon so that it can be papered again.  I went up town this afternoon.

Sunday, October 19, 1902
It has been a fair day.
I took the milk up to the factory this morning and went to Sunday School.  Uncle Will was out here to supper tonight.

Monday, October 20, 1902
It has been partly cloudy and partly nice today.

Tuesday, October 21, 1902
It has been partly fair and partly cloudy today.
I walked home from school tonight.

Wednesday, October 22, 1902
It has been partly fair and partly cloudy today.
Papa went up town after supper tonight.

Thursday, October 23, 1902
It has been a fair day only partly cloudy.
Grandma went into Chicago yesterday morning but come out last night and brought me a bottle of ink to use in my fountain pen which I use now nearly all the time.

Friday, October 24, 1902
It has been a very nice day only it clouded up about the middle of the afternoon.
I took the milk up to the factory this morning and beat a rug most of the rest of the forenoon.
We did not have any school because the teachers went to an institute at Rockford.
Papa went to Claire this morning but came back at noon.  I have staid around home all the afternoon.

Saturday, October 25, 1902
It rained quite hard last night and has been cloudy nearly all day today.  It rained very hard for a few minutes in the middle of the afternoon.
I helped drive some cattle this morning from the Coolidge farm up to the Northwestern stockyards.
I staid home all the afternoon and part of the time I watch the men set up the poles for the electric road.

Sunday, October 26, 1902
It has been cloudy nearly all day with a strong westerly wind blowing.
I took the milk up to the factory and went to Sunday-School.
Ruby Graham was out here to dinner with Louise.

Monday, October 27, 1902
It has been cloudy nearly all day.  About suppertime tonight the wind began to blow very hard and it sprinkled a little but this soon passed over.
After supper one of our horses on the other place got the colic.  Papa telephoned up for a doctor and then he and I walked down there.  I [came] back in a little while but he is down there yet.  I think the horse will get well all right.

Tuesday, October 28, 1902
It has been cloudy all day and pretty cold.
I walked to school this morning and part of the way home tonight.
I got me a pair of mittens tonight.

Wednesday, October 29, 1902
It has been partly cloudy and partly nice today.

Thursday, October 30, 1902
It has been a very nice day.
I walked to school this morning but rode home tonight.

Friday, October 31, 1902
It has been a nice day today only a little cloudy.
I husked about two bushels of popcorn after school tonight.
Uncle Will and a few friends started for Mexico today.

This entry was posted in Grandpa's Diaries and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

