Amos Claycomb’s September 1902 Diary

My Grandfather kept diaries most of his life.  This is from his 1902 journal when he was 16 and living in Sycamore, Illinois.  I post a month each Monday.

Monday, September 1, 1902
It has been a very nice day.
I started to go to school again today am in the second year of High School.  I now take four studies which are Geometry, Latin, Biology and Ancient History.  I walked home from school tonight.

Tuesday, September 2, 1902
It has been a very nice day only the roads are very dusty.
Eleanor started for Galesburg this morning where she will attend Lombard College.

Wednesday, September 3, 1902
It has been cloudy nearly all day and it sprinkled a little this afternoon.
We take the horse up to the stables now that we drive to school in.

Thursday, September 4, 1902
It has been a nice day only a little cold.
I got excused at a quarter past three from school this afternoon and went to a ball game where the Chicago Union Giants played against Sycamore.  The former won by a score of 8 to 3 making 18 hits to the latter’s 6.

Friday, September 5, 1902
It has been both cloudy and fair today only it looks like rain tonight.
After school I went up town and drove home a load of coal [?] to thresh tomorrow if it does not rain.

Saturday, September 6, 1902
It rained a little last night but has been nice today.
I helped unload a load of husks this morning and went up after some cobs but could not get any.  We began threshing the rye this afternoon and got along fairly well.  I leveled the rye in the wagons at the separater [sic].  We are threshing right out in the field.
Miss Stanton of Chicago who used to star here came out this afternoon to stay till Monday.

Sunday, September 7, 1902
It has been a very nice day.
I took the milk up to the factory this morning and also went to Sunday School.
Aunt Jennie, Uncle Will, Grandma and the little baby with the nurse came out from Riverside last night.  Uncle Will and Aunt Jennie drove over to Malta this afternoon and topped here for a few minutes on the way back.

Monday, September 8, 1902
It has been cloudy nearly all day and it started to rain about four o’clock and is still raining.
We threshed until it began to rain this afternoon.
I staid out of school this afternoon and took some rye up to the elevater [sic] and then went up after a load of husks.
Miss Stanton went home this morning.

Tuesday, September 9, 1902
It has been partly cloudy and partly nice today but colder than usual.
We began to pick sweet-corn today.  Papa went up town after supper tonight.

Wednesday, September 10, 1902
It has been partly fair and partly cloudy today.
We threshed all the afternoon but have not finished yet.
This morning before school I rode the pony about a mile and a half to tell a man when to come to help us thresh.  We are milking two cows up at this place now.  I milk both of them in the morning and most of the time at night.

Thursday, September 11, 1902
It has been cloudy and cold all day today.
We finished threshing in the middle of the afternoon having threshed in all about 750 bushels of rye and 2800 bushels of oats.
Louise staid up town tonight to wait on table at a supper given by the church.  I went up town right after breakfast this morning to get this meat and groceries for dinner for the threshers.

Friday, September 12, 1902
It has been cloudy and cold all day.
There was no school today owing to the fair that is being held at Sandwich in this county and which George went to.
I hauled one load of cobs and one load of husks this forenoon and mowed weeds all the afternoon.  Louise drove over to DeKalb this afternoon with a friend.

Saturday, September 13, 1902
It has been a fairly nice day only a little cold.
I went up to the factory and got a load of husks this morning and then mowed weeds the rest of the morning.  I got a load of husks and a load of cobs this afternoon and then just before supper I walked with the team up town and got a load of wasted corn.

Sunday, September 14, 1902
It has been a very nice day.
I took the milk up to the factory this morning and went to Sunday School.
George and I went hunting this afternoon along the creek to get a specimen for my school work but we did not get anything.  Papa went up to Grandma’s this afternoon and has not come back yet.

Monday, September 15, 1902
It has been a nice day only a little cloudy.

Tuesday, September 16, 1902
It has been a nice day only a little cloudy but warmer than usual.
I have just finished working about two hours and a half on two theorem in my geometry.

Wednesday, September 17, 1902
It has been cloudy all day and it commenced to rain about supper-time and is still raining at about half past nine.
Last Sunday Edward dropped my watch on a stone walk and broke the main spring and another part.  I had it fixed today and it cost $3 but Grandma paid it for me.  He was handing it to me but held on the end of the chain which jerked it out of my hand and then he let it drop.
The men are beginning on the road in front of our house now.

Thursday, September 18, 1902
It has been a very nice day but is turning cool tonight.

Friday, September 19, 1902
It has been partly fair and partly cloudy today.
Grandma Townsend came out here for a few minutes this afternoon.
I made me a net tonight to catch insects for my school work.

Saturday, September 20, 1902
It has been cloudy nearly all day.
I have hauled cobs and husks from the factory all day.
Mrs. Ostrum of Chicago came here tonight to stay until Monday.
George and Edward took their dinner and went out in the woods after hazel nuts this morning.

Sunday, September 21, 1902
It has been cloudy nearly all day.
I went to Sunday School at noon.  Nearly all day I have been after insects for my collection and have got quite a few.

Monday, September 22, 1902
It has been cloudy nearly all day but a little warmer than usual.
Mrs. Ostrum went back to Chicago at six o’clock this morning.
I helped with the washing a little while before school this morning and while pulling some weeds in the back yard I got stung in the head by a bee.

Tuesday, September 23, 1902
It rained most of last night and has been raining most of the time today. It is also getting colder.

Wednesday, September 24, 1902
It has been raining nearly all day.
Great Grandma Townsend died Monday morning and was buried today.  Uncle Charlie and Aunt Jennie came here from Galesburg and Uncle Will Tapper came out from Riverside this afternoon to Grandma’s where he is going to stay all winter.  He brought Jane with him.

{Amos’ great grandmother is Ann Denman Townsend, wife of Stephen Townsend (1807-1883).  She was born in Neversink, Sullivan county, New York on 15 August 1809 and died in Sycamore, Illinois on 22 September 1902.  Her son was Amos William Townsend who married Eleanor Pierce, Amos’ grandmother who is mentioned in the diaries frequently.}

Thursday, September 25, 1902
It has been cloudy all day and raining most of the time.
Uncle Charlie and Aunt Jennie went home this morning and Grandma Townsend went into Chicago with them.

Friday, September 26, 1902
It has been cloudy all day and has misted a little but not really rained.

Saturday, September 27, 1902
It rained nearly all the forenoon and then began again about four o’clock this afternoon.
I staid in the house nearly all the forenoon and helped drive cows this afternoon.

Sunday, September 28, 1902
It has been cloudy all day.
I took the milk up to the factory this morning and then went out in the woods after insects for my collection.
We did not go to sunday School because the roads are so bad.

Monday, September 29, 1902
It was cloudy all the forenoon but the sun came out a few times this afternoon but did not stay.
The road are very muddy especially where the electric road is being built.

Tuesday, September 30, 1902
It rained all this forenoon and was cloudy all the afternoon.
I got some apples out of the orchard on the other place while I was after the cows tonight.
I have just studied for two hours on my geometry tonight.
Papa went up town after supper and has not come home yet.

This entry was posted in Grandpa's Diaries and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

