Amos Claycomb’s August 1902 Diary

My Grandfather kept diaries most of his life.  This is from his 1902 journal when he was 16 and living in Sycamore, Illinois.  I post a month each Monday.

Friday, August 1, 1902
It has been cloudy nearly all day.
We started from Montreal last night and got into Chicago tonight about nine o’clock and were met by Papa, Uncle Will and Uncle Charlie.  All but Grandma, Aunt Jennie and Uncles Fred and Charlie came out to Sycamore.  We had to drive from DeKalb in buggies and we got home a little after two o’clock in the night.  Grandma and the rest went out to Riverside to see Aunt Mary who is a very little better only there is not much hope yet.  We drove from DeKalb in two of our buggies.

Saturday, August 2, 1902
It has been a nice day only very hot.
I staid around home all the morning but right after dinner I went uptown after our trunk and drove around by Grandma’s to bring Eleanor home who was there.  Louise, George and Edward went up with me and Marion came out to supper with them.  Marion, Fred and Pierce staid up to Grandma’s last night.

Sunday, August 3, 1902
It has been a very nice day.
I went up town this morning after a horse on the pony.  I rode the pony to Sunday School and then took two horses back to town on her tonight.
Marion was out to dinner.  Papa, Uncle Charlie, Aunt Jennie and Mrs. Hill drove over to DeKalb this afternoon.  Fred, Pierce and Eleanor Townsend [daughter of Frederick Townsend and Amos’ cousin] came out this afternoon.  Louise and Marion went driving after dinner and Louise went up to Grandma’s after supper to stay all night with Marion.

Monday, August 4, 1902
It has been partly fair and partly cloudy today.
I helped with the washing for about an hour this morning and have hoed corn the rest of the day.  George and Edward went up to see Fred and Pierce after dinner.

Tuesday, August 5, 1902
It rained very hard last night and has been partly cloudy and partly nice today.
This morning I hoed some velvet-weeds on the place by the creek this forenoon and hoed velvet weeds all of the afternoon.  Pierce was out here for dinner and supper.  Fred and Marion went home this forenoon.  Aunt Mary is very low today.

Wednesday, August 6, 1902
It has been fair today.
I hoed corn all the morning and pulled some mustard out of some corn this afternoon with George.
Papa went into Chicago this noon to see Aunt Mary and is going to stay all night.
I walked up town after supper to get the horse that George had just taken up for Papa to ride home in.  Papa telegraphed me that he was not coming and he also said that Aunt Mary was barely living.

Thursday, August 7, 1902
It has been a very nice day.
I have hoed corn all day.
Aunt Mary died at half past eleven this forenoon.  Papa went home this afternoon and saw about some of the funeral arrangements.
Pierce was out for dinner.  George took the milk to the factory this morning and I took the cows.

Friday, August 8, 1902
It has been partly nice and partly cloudy today.
I have hoed corn all day.
Papa and Eleanor went into Riverside this noon.  Pierce was out here to dinner and to supper.
Grandma, Uncle Will, Papa, Eleanor, Uncle Fred and Aunt Mary Townsend came home tonight and brought Aunt Mary Tapper with them.

Saturday, August 9, 1902
It has been a nice day only it commenced raining about dark tonight.
I hoed corn this morning.
This afternoon we all went up to Aunt Mary’s funeral which was at Grandma’s.  It was by far the saddest one that I have ever attended.

Amos kept this clipping in the back of the diary.

Sunday, August 10, 1902
It rained until about the middle of the afternoon and then cleared up.
I have staid home all day.  Papa has been out driving with Uncle Will most of the time.

Monday, August 11, 1902
It has been a nice day.
I hoed corn this forenoon.
Grandma and Uncle Will went back to Riverside this noon and Uncle Charlie, Aunt Jennie and Pierce also started home.
I went to a ballgame this afternoon whenSycamore played Rockford of the Three Eye League.  The former beat in a rather poorly played game by the score of 4 to 2.

Tuesday, August 12, 1902
It was fair this forenoon but clouded up this afternoon and commenced raining about dark tonight.
I have hoed corn all day.  Papa went up town tonight.

Wednesday, August 13, 1902
It rained very hard last night and has been cloudy all day.
I have hoed corn all day.

Thursday, August 14, 1902
It has been cloudy all day.
I have hoed corn all day.  Louise went on a picnic to Kingston today in a busload.  George also hoed corn all day.
Some men are beginning now to put rails in front of the house for an electric road between Sycamore and DeKalb.  They only hauled the rails here today but have not built it this far yet.

Friday, August 15, 1902
It rained a little this morning and has been cloudy the rest of the day.
I took the cows and then took the milk this morning taking up some corn and oats up to the mill to be ground in the same wagon.  I waited around town for a couple of hours and then went down after the meal but it wasn’t done so I came home.
Papa, George and I hoed corn most of the afternoon.  Eleanor went into Chicago this morning and came back tonight.  Bertine Robinson came out this afternoon to make Louise  a short visit.  Ruby Graham came out and staid with Louise last night.

Saturday, August 16, 1902
It has been a nice day.
I have hoed corn all day.  Eleanor, Louise and Bertine drove up town this afternoon.  Grandma, Uncle Will and Jane came out from Chicago tonight.

Sunday, August 17, 1902
It has been raining or cloudy nearly all day.
I took the milk up to the factory this morning.  Grandma, Uncle Will, Jane, Uncle Fred, Aunt Mary, Charles and Eleanor drove out this afternoon and staid to supper.

Monday, August 18, 1902
It has been partly fair and partly cloudy today.
I hoed corn all the forenoon.  I went to a ballgame this afternoon when Sycamore played Bloomington of the “Three Eye” League.  The former won in a very interesting and exciting game by a score of 8 to 2.  The score was 2 to 1 against Syc. in the ninth inning but with two outs and three men on bases where a man stole home and the next man made a hit scoring the winning run.  Batteries: Sycamore: Lewis and Hughes:  Bloomington : Bisby and Walker.

Tuesday, August 19, 1902
It has been cloudy nearly all day and commenced raining about dark tonight.
I have hoed corn all day.  Papa went uptown after supper tonight.

Wednesday, August 20, 1902
It has been partly cloudy and partly nice today.
I have hoed corn all day and went up town after supper tonight for a little while.
It is Eleanor’s birthday today and she is eighteen years old.

Thursday, August 21, 1902
It was foggy for a while this morning and has been partly cloudy and partly fair today.
I have hoed corn all day.  It is a good deal colder than usual tonight.

Friday, August 22, 1902
It has been both cloudy and sunny today.
I have hoed corn all day.  Papa went up town after supper tonight.

Saturday, August 23, 1902
It has been a fairly nice day.
I have hoed corn all day.
Bertine Robinson is here to stay with Louise all night.

Sunday, August 24, 1902
It has been a very nice day.
I have been shooting at blackbirds nearly all day with my rifle but only got two this morning.
Eleanor and Edward went to Sunday School.  Louise went up to Bertine’s at Mrs. Behlis’s for dinner.  I took Mrs. Hill up to church.

Monday, August 25, 1902
It has been cloudy [all] day and sprinkled a little bit this afternoon.
I have hoed corn all day.  Papa hitched two work horses onto a lumber wagon on the other farm and then started home but the horses started to run and ran all the way until Papa turned them into the barn.

Tuesday, August 26, 1902
It has been a very nice day.
I hoed corn all the morning and hauled pressed hay for Charlie Johnson this afternoon.

Wednesday, August 27, 1902
It has been a very nice day.
I have been hauling sweet corn cobs and husks from the canning factory all day for Papa.  This afternoon I shot a chicken hawk with my rifle that was down at the other place that was four feet and one inch long from the tip of one wing to the tip of the other.

Thursday, August 28,1902
It has been a nice day only a little cloudy.
I hauled cobs this morning and this afternoon I drove over to Charlie Johnson’s after a calf and hoed corn the rest of the afternoon.  I went up town after supper.

Friday, August 29, 1902
It has been a nice day only a little cloudy.
I have hauled cobs and husks all day from the factory.
Louise started this forenoon to drive over to Elgin with Mr. and Mrs. and Ruby Graham.

Saturday, August 30, 1902
It was cloudy this forenoon but the sun came out and it was pretty warm this afternoon.
I have hoed corn all day.

Sunday, August 31, 1902
It was cloudy and windy this forenoon but was nice this afternoon.
I took the milk up to the factory this morning and went to Sunday School.  Eleanor and George went to Grandma’s for dinner.
Louise came home from Elgin tonight and I drove up for her after supper.  Papa went into Chicago this morning and came home tonight.

This entry was posted in Grandpa's Diaries and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Amos Claycomb’s August 1902 Diary

  1. sethsnap says:

    This is amazing. It’s such a treasure. I wish I had an old journal of one of my grandfathers. 🙂

Leave a Reply

