Amos Claycomb’s June 1902 Diary

My Grandfather kept diaries most of his life.  This is from his 1902 journal when he was 16 and living in Sycamore, Illinois.  I post a month each Monday.

Sunday, June 1, 1902
It has been cloudy all day and has been raining most of the time.
None of us went to Sunday school and I have staid home all day.

Monday, June 2, 1902
It has been cloudy all day and it commenced raining very hard tonight at about eight o’clock and is still raining very hard at about nine.
Papa went up town after supper to a school board meeting.

Tuesday, June 3, 1902
It rained very hard last night being one of the worst storms around here in years but it has been very nice today.
As soon as I got home from school I helped to take the water out of the cellar which had gone in there last night.
Eleanor staid up to Grandma’s to take her piano lesson and Papa went up town after supper to take his singing lesson.

Wednesday, June 4, 1902
It has been cloudy all day and colder than usual.
Papa went up town after supper tonight.

Thursday, June 5, 1902
It has been a very nice day.  The creek is very high now because the rain which fell last Monday night where over three inches of water fell.
Papa went up town after supper but came back early.  I have been working algebra for school most of the time after supper.
I milk two cows every morning and night.
It is George’s birthday today and he got a watch from Grandma.

Friday, June 6, 1902
It has been cloudy all day and it rained very hard this afternoon.

Saturday, June 7, 1902
It has been cloudy all day and it rained most of the time this afternoon.
I took the milk up to town this morning and mowed the lawn when I got back.  I pitched horseshoes this afternoon with George for a while.  I went up town after supper on the pony but came right back.

Sunday, June 8, 1902
It has been a nice day only a little cloudy part of the time.
I took Mrs. Hill and Eleanor up to church this morning and went to Sunday School.
I staid home all the afternoon but after supper I went up for Louise who had been up to Ruby Graham’s for dinner.

Monday, June 9, 1902
It has been a very nice day.
After I got home from school tonight I helped George rake up some grass which Papa had the hired man cut with a scythe and which was directly east of the house.  Papa went up town tonight after supper.

Tuesday, June 10, 1902
It has been cloudy nearly all day and it commenced raining about ten o’clock tonight.
Louise and I sent to an ice cream sociable at the Congregational Church tonight.

Wednesday, June 11, 1902
It has been a nice day only it clouded up tonight.
I went to a ballgame this afternoon between Sycamore H. S. and DeKalb H. S.  At the end of nine innings the score was 6 to 6 and then it ended in a row over a not unfair play by one of the DeKalb men.  The game was very close and interesting.  Batteries for Syc were Hennigan and Love; for DeKalb Woods and Cheny.
Grandma Townsend came home from Galesburg tonight.  It rained quite a little last night but dried up a good deal today.  Papa went up town after supper tonight.

Thursday, June 12, 1902
It has been cloudy all day and tonight while we were eating supper the wind began to blow very hard and then it began to rain.
Papa went up town after supper tonight.

Friday, June 13, 1902
It has been cloudy all day and it began raining tonight about nine o’clock.
Today was the class day of the graduating class in school and I was at the exercises which were very good.  I quit school today for the summer so that I can pick berries.  Papa went up town tonight after supper.

Saturday, June 14, 1902
It was cloudy all this forenoon and it rained a little this morning but the sun came out for a while this afternoon.
I began picking strawberries this morning and earned one dollar by two o’clock when they quit.  When I got home I planted some pumpkin seeds west of the granary.
Grandma Townsend and Mrs. Sidey her housekeeper came out for a short visit this afternoon.  Papa went up town after supper tonight.

Sunday, June 15, 1902
It has been cloudy most of the time today.
I went to Sunday School at noon and after supper I went up town after Louise who had gone to church.

Monday, June 16, 1902
It has been a very nice day.
I picked strawberries this morning and earned $1.18 but did not pick this afternoon.  I mowed the lawn this afternoon.

Tuesday, June 17, 1902
It has been a fairly nice day.
I picked strawberries for about an hour this morning and earned 14 cents.  I began working this afternoon for Papa.  He gives me a half dollar for every whole day I work and a quarter if I work just half a day.  I went up town after supper and got some new shoes.

Wednesday, June 18, 1902
It has been cloudy all day.
I picked berries this forenoon and earned a dollar.  I worked for Papa all the afternoon helping him tear down some fences on the other place.  Papa went up town after supper tonight.

Thursday, June 19, 1902
It was sunny this forenoon but clouded up this afternoon and began raining about nine o’clock tonight.
I picked cherries most of the forenoon.  This afternoon I went to a ballgame between the Syc. big team and the Aurora team.  The latter beat by a score of 2 to 0.  Batteries for Syc; Bubser and Hughes  for Aurora: J. Parker and O’Grady.

Papa, Mrs. Hill and Eleanor went up to the commencement exercises to-night.  School closed for the long vacation today.

Friday, June 20, 1902
It has been cloudy all day and raining most of the time.
I picked strawberries all this forenoon and cherries all this afternoon.

Saturday, June 21, 1902
It has been a good deal colder than usual today and has been partly fair and partly cloudy.
Papa went into Chicago this morning to see the American Derby.
Aunt Mary Tapper and Jane were out to dinner.  Eleanor went up to a friend’s house for tea tonight.
I took the milk up to the factory this morning and picked a few cherries when I came home.  I have been monkeying around the house all the afternoon.  George had got very sore eyes now and has had to stay in the house all day bathing them.

Sunday, June 22, 1902
It has been a nice day only a little cloudy.
I took the milk up to the factory this morning and walked to Sunday School.
Papa came home from chicago tonight where he has been since yesterday morning.
Eleanor, Louise and Edward went up to the Children’s Day services at the Universalist church tonight.

Monday, June 23, 1902
It has been a very nice day.
I picked strawberries this morning and earned sixty cents.  I picked a pail of cherries this afternoon and then hoed part of the popcorn.  I went up town after supper tonight for a while.

Tuesday, June 24, 1902
It rained last night a little and has been cloudy all day.
I picked cherries all the forenoon and hoed the popcorn and pumpkins this afternoon.  A baby girl was born to Aunt Mary Tapper this morning.
[The baby was named Mary Tapper and in 1928 married Carl Anthony Tollefson]

Wednesday, June 25, 1902
It rained very hard this morning for a while and has […] snow and then all day.
Louise, George and Edward went to the Universalist picnic today.  I have [staid] around the house most of the forenoon and hoed corn all of the afternoon with our hired man, Mr. Gladwyn.

Thursday, June 26, 1902
It has been cloudy nearly all day.
I hoed corn all the morning.  I picked cherries for a little while this afternoon and then went to a ballgame between Sycamore and the Chicago Athletes.  The former won in a very interesting game by a score of 5 to 0.  Batteries for Syc. Bubser and Hughes for Athletes; Munch and Crowley.

Friday, June 27, 1902
It has been cloudy all day and raining at intervals.
I took the milk up to the factory and hoed pumpkins when I got home until noon.  I hoed pumpkins this afternoon until about three o’clock and then hoed corn the rest of the afternoon.  Some men have been here pressing hay all day.

Saturday, June 28, 1902
It has been raining nearly all day.  I have staid home all the time.  It has been so cold that we have had a fire in the furnace all day today.

Sunday, June 29, 1902
It has been cloudy all day and about two o’clock it began to rain and is raining now harder than before at about half past eight.
I took the milk up to the factory this morning and went to Sunday School.

Monday, June 30, 1902
It was cloudy until four o’clock this afternoon when it  cleared up and staid so.
I helped with the washing for a little while this morning and picked strawberries this afternoon.

This entry was posted in Grandpa's Diaries and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

