Family Animal Names

It was easy to check some of the facts for my story on my grandparents’ horse barn, I just had to look at the photo albums.  We have a lot of pictures although many are not labeled (sound familiar?).

And while often the people in the photos are not identified, the dogs, horses, steers, and even pigs almost always are.  And the animals get equal billing:

“Polly and I, Socks and Hank”       The “I” is my father; Hank is my uncle.

.

.

“Florrie and Bess”

.

.

.

“Florrie, Daddy, Nelle”

There were a few Florries and Nelles over the years – these were favorite names.

“Duke, Jean, Harriet”  First billing for the horse!

.

“Sargent in the Stock Yards ’28”

Luckily I know that Sargent is being held by my father who was not named on the photo.  Obviously a trip to the Sioux City Stockyards was a formal occasion!

.

“Dad and Topper”

It’s okay, I know that “Dad” is my grandfather.  However, if someone doesn’t write the man’s name on this photo, he will be nameless to future generations.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

And it’s nice to know that we have saved this photo for 85 years (since 1926) so that we know that this is “Smooth Lady 2” – no record exists for the original Smooth Lady.

What photos are in your family albums?

Linking with Camera Critters.

This entry was posted in Family Stories and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Family Animal Names

  1. Amazing!

    thanks so much for sharing these precious old photos!
    love them all!

    visiting via CC.

  2. Shydub says:

    A really nice and full of memories old photos

  3. Cheryl says:

    What a fun post. Love old pictures. These are cool since the animals are named. In our albums, there are family pets along with humans. When my nephews and niece were young, all the pictures included them. Now they’re all camera-shy so I content myself with shooting nature.

  4. Doug Crews says:

    Abby suggests that perhaps “Dad” is the dog, and “Topper” is the man. Would that help clear things up?

  5. Rose says:

    Lovely critterpost!

    My Camera Critters post, have a lovely weekend!

  6. I think this is my favorite CC post in ages! I absolutely love the old photos, and the fact that you are able to identify family members (and animals).

    I have a collection of old photos that I have bought or found, and I’m always wondering about them …

  7. Karen says:

    What an interesting post. There are some really old photos there. That’s so nice to have your family history.

  8. Beautiful post.

    Regards and best wishes

Leave a Reply

